Environmental Health Services

Southwest District Health’s (SWDH) Environmental Health Services oversees a number of programs relating to the health and the environment within Canyon, Gem Payette, Washington, Owyhee and Adams counties.

Programs include:

  • License and inspect food establishments including mobile and temporary food booths, investigation of foodborne illness outbreaks and complaints, and teaching of food safety education classes
  • Inspection of daycare centers
  • Investigate communicable and/or infections disease outbreaks
  • Issue of permits for subsurface wastewater disposal systems (Septic Systems)
  • Evaluate subdivisions for design and placement of septic systems
  • License and inspect public swimming pools
  • Evaluate nuisance complaints
  • Monitor small public water systems

Contact us at:

EH Services

Caldwell Office
Phone: 208-455-5400
Hours: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Email: 

Adams and Washington Counties:

Jeff Batten
Office: 208-642-9321
Cell: 208-899- 1287
e-mail: Jeff.Batten@phd3.idaho.gov

Canyon County:

Daycare Inspections:

Darvis Opp
Office: 208-455-5406
Cell: 208-899-1288
e-mail: Darvis.Opp@phd3.idaho.gov

Restaurants:

Caldwell Establishments:

Kelly Berg
Office: 208-455-5418
Cell: 208-899–7045
e-mail: Kelly.Berg@phd3.idaho.gov

Nampa/Melba Establishments:

Jeff Buckingham
Office: 208-455-5366
Cell: 208-899-3629
e-mail: Jeff.Buckingham@phd3.idaho.gov

Wilder/Greenleaf/Middleton/Notus:

Lisa Bahr
Office: 208-455-4512
Cell: 208-899-1277
e-mail: Lisa.Bahr@phd3.idaho.gov

Septic:

Caldwell/Greenleaf/Middleton/Notus/Parma/Wilder:

Lisa Bahr
Office: 208-455-4512
Cell: 208-899-1277
e-mail: Lisa.Bahr@phd3.idaho.gov

Nampa/Melba:

Tim Wright
Office: 208-455-5409
Cell: 208-899-1281
e-mail: Tim.Wright@phd3.idaho.gov

Gem County and Payette Counties:

Bob Poertner
Office: 208-642-9321
Cell: 208-899-1284
e-mail: Bob.Poertner@phd3.idaho.gov

Owyhee County:

Darvis Opp
Office: 208-455-5406
Cell: 208-899-1288
e-mail: Darvis.Opp@phd3.idaho.gov

File a Complaint:

To file a complaint please call 208-455-5400

Or

Contact us through our Nuisance Complaint page.